“Bible Basher”

The caption on this video says, “A Christian Bible basher outside Glasgow University.” What do you mean “Bible basher”? A guy handing out tracts is automatically a “Bible basher”?

http://vimeo.com/3558068

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://xyoutube.wordpress.com/2010/06/26/bible-basher/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I didn’t really get this video. Maybe it’s just an introduction to a sermon. Even though I’m not a big fan of tracts, I did feel sorry for the old guy. He seemed really lonely.

  2. Nice to see you, Ben, branching out beyond youtube!

  3. I’ve always been willing to use other material. It’s just that youtube has an almost-monopoly. I really like the quality of the stuff on vimeo, though.

  4. Oh, and Travis, I don’t really get the video either. I was just weirded out by the caption on it. I don’t think the guy seems all that lonely necessarily. The music that the person who made the video put in sure didn’t help in terms of warmth factor. 🙂

  5. Reminds me of some lyrics from the 70s & 80s.

    Well they call me a Holy Roller… Yes, and I DO believe it’s true! They call me a Bible Thumper… Yes… etc. If they knew what was in the Word of God, they’d be thumpin’ that Bible too!
    They call me a JESUS FREAK…
    Let me ask you one question before I go…
    Whose FREAK are YOU?!?

    From this album… http://www.angelicwarlord.com/reviews/s/servant79.html

  6. I agree that he’s no Bible Thumper. He’s got a message in large type on a sign, that’s the extent of his shouting.

  7. It’s likely true that he’s being called a Bible-basher just for what we see him doing, but it’s also possible (though less likely, I think) that the epithet was earned from activities known to the video-poster but not us.
    Then again, if the message itself is offensive, as the Gospel is bound to be for those who understand its implications but refuse to accept it, it will offend no matter what. Perhaps you should instead be rejoicing that the message has been heard clearly rather than mistaken for candy.
    As for loneliness, I can see two possible hints: that the man is alone, which isn’t a very good indicator, and that he bears a superficial resemblance to a homeless person, which the cleanness and neatness of his beard and clothing, and the abundance of tracts, make less than likely.


Leave a Reply

