That’s My King!

“Most people lack the true repentance. They lack the true contrition, the true brokenness. They are void of urgent desperation. They don’t have a true relationship to Jesus Christ. They just “hang around” Jesus… And they do not know what it means to bow to that which is eternal. To be concerned about that. They want a gospel that doesn’t ask for repentance. They want a gospel that has no threats. They want a gospel that allows them to have some superficial attachment to Jesus, but not a bowing to His absolute sovereignty at any cost. They want a gospel that fixes them in this world to make them more comfortable. That’s not it. And that’s not what Jesus offers.”
—John MacArthur

This & a few other parts of the sermon were left out of the video (it immediately followed):

He always has been and He always will be. I’m talking about the fact that He had no predecessor and He’ll have no successor. There’s nobody before Him and there’ll be nobody after Him. You can’t impeach Him and He’s not going to resign. That’s my King! That’s my King!

Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory. Well, all the power belongs to my King. We’re around here talking about black power and white power and green power, but in the end all that matters is God’s power. Thine is the power. Yeah. And the glory. We try to get prestige and honor and glory for ourselves, but the glory is all His. Yes. Thine is the Kingdom and the power and glory, forever and ever and ever and ever. How long is that? Forever and ever and ever and ever. . . And when you get through with all of the evers, then . . .Amen!

– S.M. Lockeridge


Published in: on June 5, 2010 at 8:11 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://xyoutube.wordpress.com/2010/06/05/thats-my-king/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like the words, but the video is a little too much (Mel Gibson, I mean). The gospel writers were not moved to record the crucifixion in detail. We have no details of Jesus’ appearance. God could’ve waited until video to incarnate, but instead he came with written words and preached sermons. Turn off the image, don’t cling to what you can see with your eyes. Instead, stick with Him who can be seen only with the eyes of faith.

  2. Good comment. Maybe I’ll feel differently after I read Scott Clark’s RRC, but for now I’m okay with this sort of thing — as long as you’re wary.

  3. I can hardly stand that man. As a faux-Reformed Baptist, I am confident you will him offensive. Even Sproul confuses art and images/idols. Remember, Rembrandt was Dutch!

  4. I wouldn’t call myself a Reformed Baptist. I’m still struggling with the whole baptism debate.

    I do have issues with Scott Clark. I don’t know about Sproul. But they’re both great to listen to and learn from.

  5. The Key to it all is Covenant. Vos — or one of his better rewordings — is the best proof of paedobaptism.
    They are good to learn from, but RSC stops far short of Sproul; as soon as anything ecumenical comes up, RSC is divisive and presents nothing but straw-men. And that turns out to be a lot, since he teaches Church History!!!?!

  6. What’s your issue with RSC? The FV debate?

  7. I do tend to loose my cool about him. I commented once on his blog that I was not FV but found the argument for paedocommunion persuasive. He said I was not Reformed and should go join the Eastern Orthodox. The man says John Piper is not Reform. At best, RSC is a grump and stogy troll. He seems to lead the URC pack of people who have “Premature Remnant Syndrome” — as is they alone are God’s Real Elect in the earth. I’d much rather listen to Together for the Gospel.

  8. Yes, he is very opinionated. At best a grump and stogy troll? I’m not so sure about that. I appreciate the fact that he is willing to respond to all of the comments on his blog, and I appreciate a lot of the things that he writes. Still, he is but a sinner like you and me. 🙂

  9. Come on! You being on the fence about paedobaptism is enough for him to call you “NOT Reformed”. And, taking his other writings into account, that is tantamount to calling you NOT a Christian. If you were in his presbytery/synod, he would tell you not to go to Covenant because of their failure to condemn heretics in their midst: Reformed Baptists! You would also not be allowed to become a member of his church, given your failure to subscribe to every article of the Belgic Confession.
    I will not go so far as to say HE is not a Christian, but anyone who can’t hold communion with John Piper, C.J Mahaney, Mark Dever, John Stott or Matt Chandler is a disgrace to Christ and John 17. The man is not worth your time.
    And yes, I am a sinner too. But public sins, such as lack of unity over essentials and integral uncharitableness need to be called as they are.

  10. Yeah, I understand why you don’t want to listen to him. But I think that while he is way too harsh sometimes, he’s right more often than not, and provides great insight on a number of issues. RRC looks to be a very stimulating volume, and I won’t dismiss it even if I think that Scott Clark is way too overly zealous for what he considers orthodoxy.

    I think it is sad that he won’t hold communion with those guys, but I disagree as to the idea that he is not worth my time. He is very well studied and I’ve learned a lot just from reading his blog.

  11. There is a reason I should be a seminary prof and you should be a pastor! What a great, forgiving heart you have: I will strive to learn from your example. Until then, will you pass along what you learn from RSC, Green Baggins and the like? ‘Cause I can’t go there without murderous rage welling up! God bless you in your studies.


Leave a Reply

